Local players earn MFCA All-State honors; Gall named Class 5 Offensive Player of the Year

The Missouri Football Coaches Association has released it’s All-State awards for the 2022 season.

Carthage running back Luke Gall has been named the Missouri Class 5 Offensive Player of the Year – and multiple local players have earned All-State recognition.

Local players receiving all state honors from the MFCA are listed below, or you can check out the full MFCA All-State teams HERE.


RB Jackson Marrs (Seneca) – 1st team

ATH Joel Beshore (Lamar) – 1st team

OL Ryan Davis (Lamar) – 1st team

DL Rourke Dillion (Lamar) – 1st team

LB Khiler Nance (Lamar) – 1st team

LB Cameron Sturgell (Lamar) – 1st team

DB Austin Wilkerson (Lamar) – 1st team

K Malachi Hennum (Mt. Vernon) – 1st team

QB Gavyn Hoover (Seneca) – 2nd team

RB Braden Dodson (Mt. Vernon) – 2nd team

WR Ian Ngugu (Lamar) – 2nd team

ATH Conner Ackerson (Seneca) – 2nd team

OL Jacob Gravener (Seneca) – 2nd team

LB Lincoln Renfro (Seneca) – 2nd team

P Alex Wilkerson (Lamar) – 2nd team

KR Jackson Marrs (Seneca) – 2nd team

RB Ty Willhite (Lamar) – 3rd team

LB Cody Downing (Mt. Vernon) – 3rd team


OL Talan Chandler (Nevada) – 1st team

TE Drew Beachler (Nevada) – 2nd team

DE Case Sanderson (Nevada) – 2nd team

ATH Avious Steadman (Nevada) – 3rd team

DL Donnie Keith (Carl Junction) – 3rd team

LB Johnny Starks (Carl Junction) – 3rd team

DB Konner Poynter (Monett) – 3rd team


RB Luke Gall (Carthage) – 1st team (Class 5 Offensive Player of the Year)

WR Isaiah Green (Neosho) – 1st team

OL Drew Musche (Carthage) – 1st team

DL Micah Lindsey (Carthage) – 1st team

DE Lucas Ott (Webb City) – 1st team

DB Davion King (Carthage) – 1st team

RB Jared Siler (Neosho) – 2nd team

DB Kaylor Darnell (Webb City) – 2nd team

OL Shaun Hunt (Webb City) – 3rd team


OL Dontrell Holt (Joplin) – 2nd team

LB Draven VanGilder (Joplin) – 2nd team


Lamar’s Wilkerson, Nevada’s Steadman earn Big 8 West Player of the Year honors

LAMAR, Mo. – The Big 8 West has released its all-conference football awards for the 2022 season.

Lamar DB Austin Wilkerson has been named the Big 8 West Defensive Player of the Year. Wilkerson racked up 73 tackles in the regular season, including 8 tackles-for-loss. He also had 4 pass breakups and 1 forced fumble, helping the Tigers go 8-1 in the regular season.

Nevada RB Avious Steadman has been named the Big 8 West Offensive Player of the Year. Steadman rushed or 871 yards on just 91 carries in the regular season (9.5 YPC). He finished with 12 rushing touchdowns, while also collecting 261 yards and 3 more touchdowns receiving. Nevada finished the regular season with a 7-2 overall record.

1st team offense

QB Gavyn Hoover (Seneca)

RB Avious Steadman (Nevada) – unanimous + Big 8 West Offensive Player of the Year

RB Austin Wilkerson (Lamar) – unanimous

RB Jackson Marrs (Seneca) – unanimous

WR Ian Ngugi (Lamar) – unanimous

WR Conner Ackerson (Seneca) – unanimous

WR Jack Parnell (McDonald County)

WR Garrett Ewing (Cassville)

TE Drew Beachler (Nevada) – unanimous

OT Ryan Davis (Lamar) – unanimous

OT Brian Bigbee (Seneca)

OG Talan Chandler (Nevada) – unanimous

OG Jacob Gravener (Seneca)

C Jose Juarez (Lamar) – unanimous

K Peter Littlefield (Cassville)

ATH Joel Beshore (Lamar)

1st team defense

DL Rourke Dillon (Lamar) – unanimous

DL Jacob Gravener (Seneca)

DE Case Sanderson (Nevada) – unanimous

DE Toby Moore (McDonald County)

LB Khiler Nance (Lamar) – unanimous

LB Lincoln Renfro (Seneca) – unanimous

LB Henry Campbell (Nevada)

LB Weston Gordon (McDonald County)

DB Austin Wilkerson (Lamar) – unanimous + Big 8 West Defensive Player of the Year

DB Jackson Marrs (Seneca) – unanimous

DB Alex Wilkerson (Lamar)

DB Josh Pacheco (McDonald County)

P Hernan Hernandez (Cassville)

KR Avious Steadman (Nevada)

2nd team offense

QB Cade Beshore (Nevada)

RB Jordan Johnson (Nevada)

RB Trey Wilson (Cassville)

RB Konner Poynter (Monett)

WR Cross Dowd (McDonald County)

WR Ty Willhite (Lamar)

WR Ethan Altic (Seneca)

TE Hagen Ginger (Seneca)

OT Nick Moore (Lamar)

OT Skylur Mashek (Nevada)

OG Toby Moore (McDonald County)

OG Aiden Loveall (Lamar)

C Luke Anderson (Nevada)

K Jose Juarez (Lamar)

ATH Case Sanderson (Nevada)

2nd team defense

DL Samuel Murphy (McDonald County)

DL Chris Alexander (Seneca)

DE Trace Wooldridge (Lamar)

DE Conner Ackerson (Seneca)

LB Gage Miller (Nevada)

LB Cameron Sturgell (Lamar)

LB Ty Bowman (East Newton)

LB Morgan Vaughn (Seneca)

DB Garrett Ewing (Cassville)

DB Ian Ngugi (Lamar)

DB Ethan Altic (Seneca)

DB Konner Poynter (Monett)

P Cross Dowd (McDonald County)

KR Jackson Marrs (Seneca)

Carl Junction hosts jamboree with Carthage, Nevada and Monett

WATCH: Carl Junction hosts a jamboree with Carthage, Nevada and Monett to prepare for next week’s season opener.

More highlights:

Nevada’s Sanderson named Big 8 West Player of the Year

NEVADA, Mo. – Nevada High School senior Case Sanderson is the Big 8 West baseball Player of the Year – earning 1st team All-Conference honors as both a pitcher and outfielder.

Sanderson did a bit of everything for Nevada this season.

On the mound, Sanderson finished the season with a 5-2 record, allowing just 6 total runs in 41 innings pitched. He finished with a 1.02 ERA and struck out 72 batters in those 41 innings. At the plate, the Nebraska commit hit for a .516 average with 14 doubles and 4 triples. He was also able to draw 23 walks.

Below is the complete list of All-Big 8 West baseball honorees.

Player of the Year – Case Sanderson (Nevada)

Coach of the Year – Kevin Burgi (McDonald County)

1st Team (*-Unanimous Selection)

P Levi Helm (McDonald County)*

P Case Sanderson (Nevada)*

P Marcus Young (Monett)*

C Cole Martin (McDonald County)

INF Cross Dowd (McDonald County)*

INF Eli Cheaney (Nevada)*

INF Robert Lawrence (Lamar)

INF Kade Johnson (Seneca)

UTI Drake Ketterman (Nevada)

OF Isaac Behm (McDonald County)*

OF Case Sanderson (Nevada)*

OF Mason Gastel (Lamar)

DH Logan Marquardt (Nevada)

2nd Team

P Weston Gordon (McDonald County)

P Kartman Highley (Nevada)

P Ryan Davis (Lamar)

C Cade Beshore (Nevada)

INF Kolt Walters (East Newton)

INF Jason Garner (Monett)

INF Caden Klumpp (Nevada)

INF Ty Willhite (Lamar)

UTI Destyn Dowd (McDonald County)

UTI Corey Thomas (Cassville)

OF Levi Helm (McDonald County)

OF Josh Wallace (Monett)

OF Easton Schrader (East Newton)

DH Tim Hudson (Cassville)

Honorable Mention

P Cross Dowd (McDonald County)

P Evan Butler (Cassville)

P Eli Cheaney (Nevada)

C Ty Bowman (East Newton)

INF Jimmy Hearod (Lamar)

INF Hagen Ginger (Seneca)

INF Keaton Shellenberger (Cassville)

INF Evan Butler (Cassville)

UTI Daniel Geiss (Monett)

OF Conner Ackerson (Seneca)

OF Tyler Ansley (Lamar)

OF Will Eichelberger (East Newton)

DH Colton Ruddick (McDonald County)

Special Mention

Mason Hailey (East Newton)

McDonald County shuts out Monett to advance to district semifinals

WATCH: McDonald County tops Monett 35-0 in the first round of the Class 4 District 6 playoffs Friday night.

The Mustangs will face Hillcrest in the district semifinals next week.