TRAFFIC ALERT: I-49 Bridges Over Opossum, Coon Creeks in Jasper Co. Reduced to One Lane June 27-29

JASPER COUNTY, Mo. — Contractor crews will soon be working to repair bridge and driving surfaces over Opossum and Coon Creeks reducing traffic to one lane during that time.

Beginning Monday (7 AM – 7 PM), June 27th crews will start work on northbound I-49/Coon Creek bridge near Mile Mark 67 and southbound I-49/Opossum Creek bridge near Mile Marker 65. Work will last until Wednesday, June 29th.

This will reduce both bridges to one lane in each direction and the speed limit will be reduced to 60 mph through work zones.

Two SEK agencies recognized for continual traffic safety work

WICHITA, Kans. — Two southeast Kansas law enforcement agencies are receiving state-wide recognition for their work in traffic safety initiatives and more.

The awards come from AAA Kansas which has issued them annually since 2011. According to AAA Kansas, these awards are presented to law enforcement agencies “for their efforts to successfully and cost-effectively foster and improve local traffic safety.” Agencies are scored in categories such as “education, emergency medical response, enforcement, and traffic engineering collaborations and solutions.”

Six of the agencies selected have earned the AAA Kansas Community Traffic Safety Award every year since 2011; two of these are the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office and the Pittsburg Police Department. While not a part of this group, the Parsons Police Department did however earn a platinum award for their work as well.

Police chiefs and sheriffs will receive plaques for their department’s accomplishments in the coming weeks. Those being recognized by AAA Kansas for 2021 awards are:

  • Andover Police Department – Platinum
  • Arkansas City Police Department – Platinum
  • Basehor Police Department – Platinum
  • Brown County Sheriff’s Office – Platinum
  • Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office – Platinum
  • Cloud County Sheriff’s Office – Platinum
  • Coffeyville Police Department – Gold
  • Concordia Police Department – Gold
  • Dodge City Police Department – Platinum
  • El Dorado Police Department – Platinum
  • Fort Scott Police Department – Platinum
  • Gardner Police Department – Silver
  • Hays Police Department – Silver
  • Hiawatha Police Department – Gold
  • Horton Police Department – Gold
  • Johnson County Sheriff’s Office – Platinum
  • Leawood Police Department – Platinum
  • Lenexa Police Department – Platinum
  • Linn County Sheriff’s Office – Gold
  • Lyon County Sheriff’s Office – Platinum
  • McPherson County Sheriff’s Office – Gold
  • Mission Police Department – Platinum
  • Olathe Police Department – Platinum
  • Ottawa Police Department – Gold
  • Overland Park Police Department – Platinum
  • Parsons Police Department – Platinum
  • Pittsburg Police Department
  • Roeland Park Police Department – Platinum
  • Rose Hill Police Department – Platinum
  • Salina Police Department – Platinum
  • Saline County Sheriff’s Office – Gold
  • Shawnee Police Department – Platinum
  • Spring Hill Police Department – Platinum
  • Wellsville Police Department – Silver
  • Wyandotte County Sheriff’s Office – Platinum

Plea agreement reached in deadly 2021 Jasper County crash

JASPER COUNTY, Mo. — A plea agreement has been reached in a 2021 deadly driving crash.

Monday, Ryan O’Neal, of Liberal, plead guilty to first-degree involuntary manslaughter — and was sentenced to 10-years in prison. He will not be prosecuted on a DWI charge.

It stems from what happened on February 25th of last year. According to the Missouri State Highway Patrol crash report — O’Neal was on Highway-43, near Ivy Road — crossed the center line — and hit a vehicle driven by 23-year-old Sevie Davison, of Oronogo. She later died from her injuries.

One person dead after Tesla hit by two vehicles in Independence

INDEPENDENCE, Mo. — The Independence Police Department is investigating a fatal crash involving a Tesla on Interstate 70 Sunday night.

According to police, the Tesla broke down in the westbound center lane of the interstate, west of Little Blue Parkway, when it was struck by two other vehicles.

The driver of the Tesla was pronounced dead at the scene and the passenger was taken to the hospital. The driver was identified as 74-year-old Terry Siegel.

Independence police said a mechanical issue caused the vehicle to lose power and stop.

The drivers and passengers of the other two vehicles were not injured. Police say everyone appears to have been wearing a seatbelt.

The crash continues to be under investigation.